Posted in book reviews, Book reviews by kids, Oxley Christian College

Book review: Queenie

Queenie by Corinne Fenton and Peter GouldthorpeREVIEWED BY ELIZABETH, 8, VIC

Queenie by Corinne Fenton, illustrated by Peter Gouldthorpe, Black Dog Books, ISBN 1876372974

Elizabeth read this book in her school library.

Queenie is an Indian elephant. When she gets separated from her mother, where does she go? Will she ever find her mum?

Follow Queenie’s journey to a new life. She grows to be an amazing elephant, strong and big. She becomes a legend.

She carries hundreds of people who feed her lots of peanuts, her favourite food.

My favourite picture is of two elephants playing in a bright green forest, splashing in the glittering water. Their hideaway place is calm and peaceful.

People of all ages, children and adults, who like elephants, should read this book.

I give this book a 10 out of 10 star rating because of the fascinating pictures that fade into the plain light grey outline border.


If you’d like to read more book reviews by Oxley Christian College students, you can click on ‘Oxley Christian College’ in the grey categories box in the right column of this blog. To send us YOUR book review, check out our submission guidelines. Happy reading!

Posted in book reviews, Book reviews by kids, Oxley Christian College

Book review: Rodney Loses It

Rodney Loses It by Michael Gerard Bauer and Kristina KrebsREVIEWED BY RACHEL, 8, VIC

Rodney Loses It by Michael Gerard Bauer, illustrated by Christina Krebs,
Scholastic Press, ISBN 9781742991900

Rachel read a copy of this book in her school library.

Wow! Look at Rodney, a crazy rabbit.  He totally lost it, but what did he lose?

Read on to find more clues.

Rodney loved everything, but the one thing he loved the most was drawing.  Rodney sketched all the time. He treasured his pencils, pen and textas.

Chrissie Krebs uses such impeccable pencil skills to give great clues and encourage children to really dive deep into this book.

Michael Gerard Bauer uses amazing adjectives to play with words, such as ‘bonkers’, that children would find funny.

I love this book because it’s hilarious.

I give this book a 10/10 rating for children in aged 8-11.


This is Rachel’s first book review for Alphabet Soup. If you’d like to read more book reviews by Oxley Christian College students, you can click on ‘Oxley Christian College’ in the grey categories box in the right column of this blog. To send us YOUR book review, check out our submission guidelines. Happy reading!

Posted in book reviews, Book reviews by kids, Oxley Christian College

Book review: I’m Australian Too

I'm Australian Too by Mem Fox, illustrated by Ronojoy GhoshREVIEWED BY MIRANDA, 9, VIC

I’m Australian Too by Mem Fox,
illustrations by Ronojoy Ghosh, Scholastic, ISBN 9781760276218

Miranda read a copy of this book in her school library.

I’m Australian Too is a beautiful book with its sing-song like words and detailed pictures.

On every page you will get a surprise. You will read about different cultures and countries. Each will page will tell you about immigrants and why they came to Australia.

This book celebrates that we’re all Australians no matter where we came from. I recommend this book for 3-10 year olds because there are not so many words. I rate this book 10/10 because it has a great message for everybody about how we are an international continent.


This is Miranda’s first book review for Alphabet Soup. If you’d like to read more book reviews by Oxley Christian College students, you can click on ‘Oxley Christian College’ in the grey categories box in the right column of this blog. To send us YOUR book review, check out our submission guidelines. Happy reading!

Posted in book reviews, Book reviews by kids, Oxley Christian College

Book review: The Great Rabbit Chase

The Great Rabbit Chase by Freya BlackwoodREVIEWED BY CINDY, 7, VIC

The Great Rabbit Chase
by Freya Blackwood, Scholastic,

ISBN 97817438111641

Cindy read this book in her school library.

A girl’s mum goes out to buy a pair of gumboots but comes home with a rabbit instead.

This book is about a little girl, her mum and lots of other people trying to catch a rabbit who is very fast.  Where is the rabbit going?  Why is he escaping?

I appreciate this book because there is a board game in the endpapers.

I recommend this book for kids who love rabbits and games, particularly kids who are 4 to 9 years old.  I give this book a 10 out of 10 rating.


This is Cindy’s first book review for Alphabet Soup. If you’d like to read more book reviews by Oxley Christian College students, you can click on ‘Oxley Christian College’ in the grey categories box in the right column of this blog. To send us YOUR book review, check out our submission guidelines. Happy reading!

Posted in book reviews, Book reviews by kids, Book reviews by Matilda

Book review: In the Lamplight

In the Lamplight by Dianne Wolfer and illustrated by Brian SimmondsREVIEWED BY MATILDA, 12, WA

In the Lamplight by Dianne Wolfer, illustrated by Brian Simmonds, Fremantle Press, ISBN 9781925591224 

Matilda borrowed this book from the library. 

This is a diary-style illustrated book about World War I. It’s by the same illustrator and author of Lighthouse Girl and Light Horse Boy.

In the Lamplight is about a girl called Rose growing up in England. She joined the hospital to help out, hoping to become a nurse one day. In her diary you see her hopes and ambitions, postcards, photographs, and letters. There are also letters from soldiers to their loved ones, and sometimes from her brother to her. The book switches between a diary and a novel format.

I liked how it shows a woman’s perspective of the war and how young some of the helpers were.

Readers who enjoyed Lighthouse Girl and Light Horse Boy will want to read this book. I’d recommend it for 9 to 13 year olds.

Read a sample chapter at the publisher’s website.  


Matilda is one of our regular book reviewers. You can read Matilda’s other reviews here. If YOU would like to send us a book review, check out our submission guidelines. Happy reading!

Posted in book reviews, Book reviews by kids, Book reviews by Matilda

Book review: A Wrinkle in Time

A WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L'EngleREVIEWED BY MATILDA, 12, WA

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle, Penguin Books Ltd, ISBN 9780241331163

Matilda borrowed this book from the library.

This is a science-fiction novel about a family whose dad is missing. The little brother discovers three ladies who seem to be able to travel to other dimensions, and they tell Charles Wallace that they know where his father is.

I like time-slip novels — this is sort of a dimension-slip novel. I really enjoyed it because it was so different from our world, and I liked the characters in the other world.

The copy of the book I read was a movie tie-in, and had photos from the movie in the middle pages of the book. That was annoying because I had an idea in my head of all the characters and then suddenly I came across the movie photos and they were completely different. (But I’d still like to see the movie.)

Kids who love weird fantasy adventure books will love this.


Matilda is one of our regular book reviewers. You can read Matilda’s other reviews here. If YOU would like to send us a book review, check out our submission guidelines. Happy reading!

Posted in book reviews, Book reviews by kids, Book reviews by Matilda

Book review: Goldfish Boy

The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson ((blue book cover showing a crowd of people and Matthew has a goldfish bowl on his head)REVIEWED BY MATILDA, 12, WA

The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson, Scholastic, ISBN 9781407170992

Matilda borrowed this book from the library. 

This is about a boy (Matthew) who has OCD and doesn’t like germs at all. He doesn’t like to leave the house.

Then the toddler next door goes missing, and Matthew was the last person to see him. Matthew feels he has to find out where the toddler is and starts trying to solve the mystery.

I liked that this wasn’t just a standard mystery/detective story, it had added layers because Matthew had his own problems to deal with too.

Readers aged 11 and older who like detective stories will enjoy The Goldfish Boy.


Matilda is one of our regular book reviewers. You can read Matilda’s other reviews here. If YOU would like to send us a book review, check out our submission guidelines. Happy reading!